Cooling refrigerator - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-05-2018, 02:00 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 2
Texas
Cooling refrigerator

Every time we try to cool the fridge by switching it over to use the propane, it just continues to beep. It shows the rain drop icon so we know it is not using electric, but it does not cool. Is there some trick to this? Or, has anyone else had this problem before?
__________________

Frogster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 03:19 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,200
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogster View Post
Every time we try to cool the fridge by switching it over to use the propane, it just continues to beep. It shows the rain drop icon so we know it is not using electric, but it does not cool. Is there some trick to this? Or, has anyone else had this problem before?
What is your RV? That will help with offering suggestions as to what to do to solve your problem.

The obvious things, do you have gas, is the gas turned on at the refrigerator?
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 04:02 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2018
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 2
Texas
It's a 2016 Voltage toy-hauler 3975.
The refrigerator has a button you can switch between electric or gas. We do have gas and our stove and oven works fine with it.
Frogster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-05-2018, 04:05 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,200
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Frogster View Post
It's a 2016 Voltage toy-hauler 3975.
The refrigerator has a button you can switch between electric or gas. We do have gas and our stove and oven works fine with it.
Is the gas valve turned on at the refrigerator? Do you hear a clicking sound as if the ignitor is trying to fire the gas?
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-06-2018, 12:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Holtwood
Posts: 64
Pennsylvania
If propane has not been used in a while you may have turn the fridge off after you hear the beeping and then turn it back on. The igniter will only try and light so long and when there is no propane flow it will shut off. Turning the fridge off then on will reset the igniter and it will try to light again. Sometimes I need to do this three times for the fridge to light if it has been sitting a while with the propane off.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200 with 17.5 wheels and disc brakes towed by a 2014 Ram CTD 3500 SRW crew cab short bed
4wlow is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 01:25 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: Lakewood
Posts: 62
Colorado
Have you ever used the gas to cool the fridge before? As one said if you haven't used propane in awhile light a burner and purge the system some.
Take off the exterior inspection cover and check to see if the gas valve there is shut off. There is also a reset there on most units. (google your model for exact location). Turn off the gas option. While your watching, have someone turn the gas option on and look to see if the igniter is sparking.
Lilnuts is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 04:19 AM   #7
Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 23
California
Cooling refrigerator

Agree with Lilnuts. If it has been more than a few weeks since I have used my propane tanks I always light a burner on the stove as that helps clear out the propane line. I had to turn my fridge on and off three times the last time I used it to get the propane working. Once it started up I was fine the entire time switching between gas and electric on my last trip.

You should hear clicking and even the sound of the furnace lighting inside but for sure outside at the inspection cover.

Good luck.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-08-2018, 05:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Seffner
Posts: 171
Florida
Burp the system, light all 3 stove burners for 60 seconds and that should do it.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
2013 VOLTAGE 3905 EPIC III
T/V: 2011 RAM 3500 DRW LONGHORN LARAMIE
FULLY DELETED AND H&S MINI MAXX, AFE INTAKE, 5" TURBO BACK
ANDERSON ULTIMATE FIFTH WHEEL CONECTION
Nate42379 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 01:59 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.