Converter - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2016, 03:55 PM   #1
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Converter

The DC power has stopped working. I smelled electric burning all week but could place it. I guess now it was the converter. Now I have No DC power. Can this be fixed or the whole thing needs to be replaced? I'm a full timer and kinda need to fix this pretty quick.
__________________

__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:11 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Sand Rock
Posts: 14
Alabama
If you are on shore power... Connect the best battery charger you have... This will help get you by until you can get a replacement converter..
__________________

Robert is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:12 PM   #3
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
After looking on the net for a replacement distribution center a converter keeps popping up. I guess the panels not the problem, but the deck mounted converter. Where is this located?
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:20 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,301
Wyoming
Quote:
Originally Posted by CR3999 View Post
After looking on the net for a replacement distribution center a converter keeps popping up. I guess the panels not the problem, but the deck mounted converter. Where is this located?
Not for nothing, but it sounds as if you have about as much electrical experience as I have: enough to be dangerous.

Recommendation: Call a mobile tech and get a REAL diagnosis of the problem, and a plan to repair.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:26 PM   #5
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Shoot, unplug the trailer everything should be dead. Heck I don't even know where the batteries at at.LOL This is how you learn. But your right electronics is not my strong suit. If I can change out injectors on my diesel truck I can surly do this.
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:34 PM   #6
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
  • Check Battery Voltage
  • If low recharge
  • Disconnect Battery Cables
  • Check ALL fuses in the converter to make sure they aren't blown
  • with battery disconnected, converter on check voltage at battery cables

I am betting on a bad converter, especially if you smelled something burning.

What model is in your unit? Some are easy swap out/upgrade others not so easy.

I buy almost all of my converters and related items from Best Converter. I prefer Progressive Dynamics over most other brands.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:35 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: SLC
Posts: 5
Utah
I had a similar situation when I hooked up my shore power to a poorly grounded 240v outlet, frying the DC converter. Strangely enough I also have a 2012 Voltage 3200.

You'll want to just replace the converter. It's located in the storage space directly behind the passenger side hookup panel. You'll access it by removing the vertical panels in the storage space. Mine was mounted vertically on a piece of plywood.

The converter you want is a WFCO WF68100 100 amp deck converter. My suggestion is to purchase it direct from Amazon.com here, or somewhere similar. My experience with trying to get it from a dealer was a disaster. They wanted as least double the online price, and delivery time was measured in months. Once you get access to it, the replacement is dead simple, and takes maybe 10 minutes.

Attached is a picture of my converter installed. YMMV.

Hope that helps. Glad to answer any questions!
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_1799.jpg
Views:	55
Size:	50.1 KB
ID:	2929  
Greybaer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:40 PM   #8
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Thanks! I'll do that. Thanks again
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 04:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 187
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by CR3999 View Post
After looking on the net for a replacement distribution center a converter keeps popping up. I guess the panels not the problem, but the deck mounted converter. Where is this located?
You should find the converter behind and left of the fireplace, if it is like the 3800. Sounds like it is fried, but they are not terribly expensive, and i replaced mine in my old toy hauler, only knowing how to replace like for like connections. I am not an electrician either, but i can "paint by numbers" and transplanted a carb on my 1970 Dodge Challenger back when i was 20, just using the same logic, even though i am not a mechanic either.

So, if you get a converter replacement of the same model, you should be able to take a look at doing that. Make sure the new converter is a 3 stage, which stops when the batteries are full, and not a 1 speed with no brakes like i had on my old TH which fried a pair of $200 Optima batteries.
__________________
2015 Voltage 3800 w/ Epic, Int&Ext, Garage Pkgs; 4x100W Solar, Xantrex C35 Charge, SW2000 Inverter & Mon; 2005 Chevy Duramax Dually 3500 w/Banks; Kawi KFX700 & Polaris Scrambler 500 ATVs.
VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 05:28 PM   #10
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
If the converter is bad I would seize the opportunity to upgrade to a four stage, it is a lot better for the batteries. I would not buy another WFCO if that is what is currently in there. They have a whole range of issues. The WFCO on my Coleman crapped out at about 16 months. It would never go to float charge, replaced it with a Progressive Dynamics and was a happy camper.

We just bought a brand new Coachman Concord, it has the WFCO converter, I have already budgeted for the PD upgrade.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 06:38 PM   #11
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Good to know. I will get a progressive D one. How about hookup? I just got back with a battery charger. I will order the converter online. Is there a rating I should look for? I have a little time now with the charger.
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 06:52 PM   #12
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Shoot an email to Randy @ Best Converter with the model number of the old one and he will tell you the best replacement. Great guy, veteran, easy to deal with.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2016, 09:13 PM   #13
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Thanks guys you've been a great help.
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 04:08 PM   #14
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
Ok, I've ordered the converter, have the battery charger hooked up. Yea I found the batteries, up front next to the generator. The wires to the converter are routed through the exterior side and out of sight. Anyone have a clue where that thing is hiding? I don't have a fire place.
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 04:27 PM   #15
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Simi Valley
Posts: 32
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by CR3999 View Post
Ok, I've ordered the converter, have the battery charger hooked up. Yea I found the batteries, up front next to the generator. The wires to the converter are routed through the exterior side and out of sight. Anyone have a clue where that thing is hiding? I don't have a fire place.
If your 3200 is like mine (2014) you'll find it in the pass through storage area kinda behind the vacuum. Remove the carpeted cover panels & look back into the mass of wires, subwoofer, plumbing, transfer switch, etc. Not in a very convenient location but it's there.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3200 Epic III
2015 F350 CC 4WD SRW
mcpaul is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-28-2016, 05:32 PM   #16
Member
 
CR3999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: College Station/Katy, TX
Posts: 26
Texas
I toke off the drivers side panel and saw the transfer switch. Then I toke off the passenger side and pulled it out enough to shine a flash light behind it but I was to lazy to take it all the way off. Well I'm going in. Thanks! I even toke off the vent at the stairs, they are just nailed in.
__________________
Have toys will travel,
2012, 3200 Voltage, 17 Road-Glide
15 Lariat, w/ all the bells a whistles.
CR3999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-29-2016, 03:12 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Helena, MT
Posts: 459
Montana
In my TT, the converter is located in the lower section of the breaker panel control center. If your's is the typical WFCO that is OEM, I would think it would be there?

I recommend reading through this website as a reference to learn about your camper's power systems.
The 12volt Side of Life (Part 1)
__________________

__________________
2012 Aspen Trail 2710BH | 280 watts of solar on the roof | 2x6V GC batteries | 100% LED lighting | 1500 & 300 watt PSW inverters | so far strictly boondocking
ewarnerusa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 10:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×