3rd AC over garage - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-02-2015, 07:33 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Skiatook
Posts: 50
Oklahoma
3rd AC over garage

I live in OKlahoma and this will be first summer using the Toy Hauler. I am thinking of installing a 3rd AC unit over garage. Some tell me its not needed, but I tend to think its a must in the summer.

Can someone share thoughts on this? Anyone feel its not necesaary before I waste the $$ ?

Thanks!
__________________

__________________
Runbot
2012 Voltage 3600 Epic Package, All weather
2008 Ford F350 6.4L Pstroke CC 4X4 LB,
2000 Kawasaki Prairie 4x4
cvining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 08:14 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2013
Location: Lima
Posts: 32
Ohio
I use a portable air unit from Lowes I bought the biggest one they had 13,000 BTU
__________________

__________________
Chuck Ewing
Lima, Ohio
2012 Dutchmen Voltage 3950 epic
1996 F-350 SWD 7.3 Liter Diesel
cewing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 08:33 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Skiatook
Posts: 50
Oklahoma
That's a great idea.
__________________
Runbot
2012 Voltage 3600 Epic Package, All weather
2008 Ford F350 6.4L Pstroke CC 4X4 LB,
2000 Kawasaki Prairie 4x4
cvining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 09:04 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
I use my garage as a bedroom for guest, so for me it's a must.

If you just store toys, you could probably do without.

It's easy to install an RV rooftop AC in the vent opening and hard-wire it to a 120V inlet. You can just plug it into the power pole with an extension cord, or run the cord up to the exterior outlet to use the generator. On the generator you'll be better off if you buy a high efficiency unit.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 09:05 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,312
Wyoming
I've got a portable air unit from Lowes that I use in my bedroom at home, so I don't have to cool the entire house overnight. They are good, and work well... but in an RV, it's another item you gotta lug around & store when you're on the go. Plus, you still have to vent it outside... either thru a window, or cutting a hole in the wall.

Personally, I'd opt for getting the 3rd A/C installed over the garage. The wiring & circuitry should all already be there, so all you gotta do is have the unit installed & hooked up.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 09:10 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Skiatook
Posts: 50
Oklahoma
I use the garage as a bedroom for kids or other guests too. That's why it seemed a must. I'm getting one that comes with IR remote so I don't have to install thermostat. Ceiling is too tall to operate. I know that when I'm too hot I can't sleep... Don't want my guests to be miserable while I'm sawing logs in 65 degrees :-).

I will wire for separate extension chord used outside.
__________________
Runbot
2012 Voltage 3600 Epic Package, All weather
2008 Ford F350 6.4L Pstroke CC 4X4 LB,
2000 Kawasaki Prairie 4x4
cvining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 11:27 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
Here is a link to a thread I posted last year about adding an AC hardwired to an inlet to connect with an extension cord.

2nd AC install

If you don't already have an AC in the garage, you may have the romex wired from the vent to the panel, but without a Precision Circuits load management system it should not be wired to the panel.

In my last toy hauler I purchased a high efficiency AC unit that only pulled 10 amps and was able to run the extension cord up to the exterior GFI outlet to power the garage AC off the generator while still running the main OR bedroom AC, but the generator can only handle two ACs at a time. If you're plugged into shore power you'll be able to run all three ACs.

Eventhough you can run three ACs on shore power, most RVs without a load management system only have two ACs wired to the panel to protect the generator.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 03:03 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 756
Arizona
Mine came with 3 AC's and we use the garage AC a lot for family and friends. We don't hesitate to turn on all 3 AC's and let the management system sort things out.
__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 03:25 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
soonernation's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Sanger
Posts: 258
Texas
I too use the portable AC. It works great to supplement the main system when getting things set up in the middle of the hot Texas summers.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3200
2014 Ford F350 DRW
www.facebook.com/VoltageToyHauler
soonernation is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-23-2015, 08:38 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Skiatook
Posts: 50
Oklahoma
I ended up having the 3rd AC roof mounted over garage. It doesn't take up floor space and it gets the room super cold on a hot day. I have a desperate power chord that plugs in for 110 outlet. That way I can run to separate power supply on pole, or plug back into my trailer and use generator if needed.
__________________
Runbot
2012 Voltage 3600 Epic Package, All weather
2008 Ford F350 6.4L Pstroke CC 4X4 LB,
2000 Kawasaki Prairie 4x4
cvining is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:10 AM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,163
Illinois
I bought mine with it, so I don't know what it is like without it. Using that room as a guest room with the drop down queen bed, as well as my cats and dog usually lounging out there, I can't imagine not having it. Very comfortable. Plus with having the ramp/party deck down and only having the plastic over the screen doors as insulation, I think you need the extra kick from the third unit.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 03:24 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
HornedToad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Midland
Posts: 606
Texas
I'm moving into the Voltage full time next week and my first project is to move the garage AC.

I keep a queen size residential mattress on the top bunk and store a 3 inch foam topper along with the stock mattress pad up top to pull down for the couches when I have guest. When the top bunk is raised I cannot run the garage AC as these items restrict the return air flow.

I have another 14X14 vent in the center of the garage ceiling between the edge of the bunk and garage bulkhead. Simple solution... I'm going to move my AC to this vent so I can run the garage AC with the top bunk raised to the ceiling!!!

I hope I can salvage the vent so I can re install it in place of the AC and do not have to buy a new one. The last one I took out got mangled beyond use.
__________________

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-24-2015, 11:11 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Prescott
Posts: 72
Arizona
We are having trouble running all 3 AC units on 50 amp shore power. The only thing that is running besides the 3 units is a couple of lights. Is there a trick to getting all 3 running at the same time?
__________________
2015 Voltage 3970, EPIC IV, Full Body Paint, Loaded
2015 Ram 3500 long bed, diesel, DRW, Air Bags, aux fuel tank
2012 Polaris Ranger Crew 800 EPS
2015 Polaris Ranger 900 EPS
Aztex is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 03:38 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Callaway
Posts: 864
Maryland
Quote:
Originally Posted by HornedToad View Post
I'm moving into the Voltage full time next week and my first project is to move the garage AC.

I keep a queen size residential mattress on the top bunk and store a 3 inch foam topper along with the stock mattress pad up top to pull down for the couches when I have guest. When the top bunk is raised I cannot run the garage AC as these items restrict the return air flow.

I have another 14X14 vent in the center of the garage ceiling between the edge of the bunk and garage bulkhead. Simple solution... I'm going to move my AC to this vent so I can run the garage AC with the top bunk raised to the ceiling!!!

I hope I can salvage the vent so I can re install it in place of the AC and do not have to buy a new one. The last one I took out got mangled beyond use.
I know what you mean about the AC over the bed...I keep the bed stack down about 6 inches, close the main bottom vent, but allow the sides to be open, it does a good job of cooling while traveling. When we get to MD, we are going to remove the bottom bench/bed contraption and drop the top bunk to the that spot, that way the boy, dog, and cat can all sleep in the bed.

Cale
__________________
TV: 2015 F-350 DRW, CC, 4x4, with 14k GVWR package, 98 gallon TransferFlow Aux Tank, Timbren Shocks

TH: 2014 Voltage 3950, Sailun S637 all around
calewjohnson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2015, 09:11 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: Minden
Posts: 689
Nevada
I would look around, most of the time, they pre-wire for AC, since a lot of RVers like to add the 3rd one
__________________
Rich and Angela, Lab Dogs, Ruben, Ace
2015 Voltage V3895 2006 Lance Truck Camper
2013 Chevy 3500HD 4X4 CC DRW LB Bags Husky 26K Hitch Can Am Commander 1000 ATV
RVNevada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-27-2015, 06:50 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVNevada View Post
I would look around, most of the time, they pre-wire for AC, since a lot of RVers like to add the 3rd one
I sure know my V3605 wasn't pre wired for A/C in the garage. Didn't even have 12V up there for a fan upgrade. I had to run it myself.
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 02:38 AM   #17
New Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Peoria
Posts: 7
Arizona
Just so everyone knows, the floor of the garage in voltages at least are NOT insulated. Don't believe me walk on it in 30F temps bare foot. I was going to get cost of having mine spray foamed.
fordborn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2015, 05:29 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
arlan in arizona's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Quartzsite
Posts: 682
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by fordborn View Post
Just so everyone knows, the floor of the garage in voltages at least are NOT insulated. Don't believe me walk on it in 30F temps bare foot. I was going to get cost of having mine spray foamed.
My 3905 garage floor is not insulated!

But I have good heat back there,
.
Arlan
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3905
2013 F350 4x4 DRW
2013 RZR XP 900
arlan in arizona is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 12:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×