3800 fuel station - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2014, 10:02 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
3800 fuel station

As I recently mention I am still burning the gasoline the dealer put in the tanks back in February of 2012. Generator runs fine off that gas and I have pumped the toy tank pretty much dry just doing the maintenance run of the Onan.

The other day the landlord wanted to cut the grass so I hooked up and rolled down to the gas station to lubricate the wheel bearings, rattle stuff around inside and get some fresh gas in both tanks.

I'm going to take the scooter out tomorrow so I'd figure I'd make sure the fuel station works before I get too far along in my plans.

To my surprise the fuel pump worked and the gas that was discharged was water and crud free. I was prepared to pull the pump and free it up but I didn't need to do that nor did I have to filter the gas. Tomorrow I'll see if the gas is up to the challenge of being pushed through a 1900 cc engine at Interstate speeds.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 01:29 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
As I recently mention I am still burning the gasoline the dealer put in the tanks back in February of 2012. Generator runs fine off that gas and I have pumped the toy tank pretty much dry just doing the maintenance run of the Onan.

The other day the landlord wanted to cut the grass so I hooked up and rolled down to the gas station to lubricate the wheel bearings, rattle stuff around inside and get some fresh gas in both tanks.

I'm going to take the scooter out tomorrow so I'd figure I'd make sure the fuel station works before I get too far along in my plans.

To my surprise the fuel pump worked and the gas that was discharged was water and crud free. I was prepared to pull the pump and free it up but I didn't need to do that nor did I have to filter the gas. Tomorrow I'll see if the gas is up to the challenge of being pushed through a 1900 cc engine at Interstate speeds.
It seems that gas doesn't go bad like it used to. I forgot to drain the tank on the preasure washer and had not used it for a couple of years, when I got it out to use it a couple of weeks back I thought I would have to do some work to get it going. To my suprise it started on the 3rd pull and run just like normal.
__________________

hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 01:47 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
I dunno, gas around here goes bad in less than a year.

I always put Seafoam in my gas cans and equipment gas tanks in the Fall.

I wish gas was a high quality as the old days!

On a like topic, can someone tell me if the fueling station hose is 3/4 or 1 inch? I want to replace the original with either a 6 or 8 Ft hose. The OEM is just too short for fueling my Polaris RZR.

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 02:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Mine is marked 3/4".
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 02:10 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Thanks sundancer!

Guess I could have looked, but have been busy getting the trailer reloaded after the trip to the dealer.

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 02:18 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Goodyear 3/4" x 8' Hardwall Curb Pump Hose - HW3/4X8

Check this out when you have time.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 03:04 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Sundancer, Do you use one of these? Do you have a swivel on one end?

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 03:08 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Nope, I just use the OEM set up. I think I can get close enough to fill the bike. Never used it for filling the bike but I think it will be long enough.

I'm not sure the link I sent you will actually fit. The threads look straight in the photo but the description of others show NPT. I guess the only way to know is to take the nozzle off and look at the threads.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 03:51 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Yup and I can do that. Found another site that has pre-made hoses:

Gas Pump Heaven¬*::¬*HOSES & NOZZLES¬*::¬*HOSES¬*::¬*BLACK HOSE w/ BRASS ENDS

The RZR can be very tough to get along side the 3800 in some of the RV parks where we have stayed. So being able to back right up to the trailer and then use a longer hose to reach the gas cap a just about the center of the machine on the passenger side...would sure be nice!

I'll figure it out and post what I chose do to!

Thanks,

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 05:09 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
I guess that system would handle diesel fuel? Anyone doing that?
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 06:39 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Whoa....yes it will handle diesel...but, forgive me, why would you want to do that?

Having two gas caps about 2-3 feet apart...I'd be scared to mix the two fuels and have a disaster.

Just me..

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2014, 08:22 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper2b View Post
I guess that system would handle diesel fuel? Anyone doing that?
It probably could handle diesel, one would want to add an inline fuel filter and water trap though.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:25 AM   #13
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pirate View Post
Whoa....yes it will handle diesel...but, forgive me, why would you want to do that?

Having two gas caps about 2-3 feet apart...I'd be scared to mix the two fuels and have a disaster.

Just me..

Pirate
Whats makes it any difference from a local gas station that sells diesel? The pumps are marked. Gas caps are labeled, as are diesel caps there is a clear distinction. Thanks for asking why, I have things that run on diesel fuel. Also friends with diesel operated toys.
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 03:35 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
It probably could handle diesel, one would want to add an inline fuel filter and water trap though.
All diesel fuel sold is filtered and water is separated as a rule. Most all diesel engines have filters, and some with water separators. Not sure additional would be necessary. I guess my main concern would be the pump being able to handle it. The tank has not been used yet so I'm still considering! Decisions, decisions....
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:36 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 861
Colorado
Camper, sounds like a plan. Me, I'm a TBI survivor...if I'm not very careful, I'll fill Wife's Tacoma with diesel and my Duramax Silverado with unleaded premium...

Yup, just me...

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:53 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper2b View Post
All diesel fuel sold is filtered and water is separated as a rule. Most all diesel engines have filters, and some with water separators. Not sure additional would be necessary. I guess my main concern would be the pump being able to handle it. The tank has not been used yet so I'm still considering! Decisions, decisions....
A fuel hose is a fuel hose and if a pump can stand up to gasoline, it will handle diesel.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 01:23 PM   #17
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Camper2b View Post
All diesel fuel sold is filtered and water is separated as a rule. Most all diesel engines have filters, and some with water separators. Not sure additional would be necessary. I guess my main concern would be the pump being able to handle it. The tank has not been used yet so I'm still considering! Decisions, decisions....
Yep, I understand all that, having driven and repaired diesel fire trucks and using a Chevy 3500 HD with a 90 gallon transfer tank in it, to pull my hauler.

I was think more along the lines of having diesel sit in your tanks for awhile. Unless full, there is a chance of a drawing moisture into the tank But of course you probably already know that.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2014, 04:32 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
DesertRat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Desert Hot Springs
Posts: 1,760
California
I'm using my front tank for diesel. Only thing I needed to do was remove the fill nozzle & grind it out to except a diesel nozzle. I'll be using it to fuel my tow vehicle. That extra 10' hose would be nice. I'll check into that. Thanks
__________________
Mike
2002 42' Monaco Signature Triple Crown tow 2014 F-150
2014 Voltage V3605 Sold 5/3/17
2012 F-350 6.7l CC 4X4, Sold 10/10/17
DesertRat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 01:53 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
Camper2b's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Nashville
Posts: 538
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
Yep, I understand all that, having driven and repaired diesel fire trucks and using a Chevy 3500 HD with a 90 gallon transfer tank in it, to pull my hauler.

I was think more along the lines of having diesel sit in your tanks for awhile. Unless full, there is a chance of a drawing moisture into the tank But of course you probably already know that.
I thought about the transfer tank as well, but was concerned about weight in the bed along with pin weight and other junk..I'll have to do a little math.. I need a calculator of course
__________________
Slim
Former 2014 Vlotage 3200 owner
Camper2b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-24-2014, 02:11 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,856
Oklahoma
Seven pounds to the gallon of diesel but the weight goes down every 10 miles for me. I had to have a transfer tank because ULSD wasn't available in Mexico so I had to bring my own so I could travel the country and return to the States. I decided to keep and use the tank and it has been beneficial while lessening those frequent fuel stops.

Another reason to filter the OEM tank on the Voltage are the comments about slag and crud left in the them.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×