2nd A/C - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-20-2019, 01:32 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2019
Location: Pike Road
Posts: 16
Alabama
2nd A/C

Hey Guys, we have a 37 Endurance TT TH we want to add a 2nd A/C to. The electrical for the 2nd A/C is ran to the front bedroom. Was advise by a local RV service center not to install it there because the a/c would be on a slant on the roof and all the water would ran down the front of the roof and may cause leaking overtime, which makes sense. There is a roof vent for the a/c in the garage, which is where we prefer to have it installed because it becomes the kids room after we unload, but no electrical is ran there. I was told that running the wires to the garage would be labor intensive and pricey to install a/c there. Anyone with any advice? I feel like my nephew and I could install the a/c if the electrical was ran to the garage. Anyone using a portable A/C in the garage area?
__________________

PRKev is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 04:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Roseburg
Posts: 328
Oregon
I'm not on the same page as the service tech. The front bedroom is wired for a second AC. If its properly installed it won't leak. Of course anything exposed to water over a long period of time could be a potential leak.

Is the bedroom setup for a ducted or not ducted AC? If it was me I would add a low profile AC since it's going to be hanging out there on the front. I low profile unit would be more wind resistant and less noticeable.
I did add a portable AC to the garage of my Toy Hauler (two Toy Haulers ago) I ducted it out a low side vent. Some portable AC's will collect water. If you were to do this I would get the one that vents the moisture along with the heat out of the same vent. When I plugged the portable AC in I just ran an extension cord to the park Pedestal and plugged it in separate.
__________________

1l243 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2019, 03:25 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 6
California
I have an AC in the bedroom and one in the center of my rig. We spend a lot of time in AZ so I installed an AC unit in the garage vent which was not pre-wired. I ran a separate 120V cord to the outside rear of the unit where I plug into the pedestal separately from the other two. Running wires internally to the main panel wasn't possible, and the benefit is that I can run all 3 at the same time.
Captain Dan is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 07:49 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×