2103 Voltage 3800 hauler TV coax wiring - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-17-2012, 12:21 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,842
Oklahoma
2103 Voltage 3800 hauler TV coax wiring

I'll be taking delivery on the 2013 Voltage 3800 next month and have a question about the coax wiring for the four TVs in the unit.

I have a tripod mount DirecTV antenna with a triple LNB. The LNB has an internal switch that will enable me to receive the satellites 101 and 119. There's one coax coming from the LNBs that will connect to the coax intake on the unit. Presumably there will be coax to connect one DBS receiver to that coax cable.

The question is, what will be needed to connect all four TVs to the TV output on the receiver.

Has anyone done this without having to connect and reconnect to each and every TV that wants to be viewed?
__________________

sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:45 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
Wow.. the same set up basically as mine only mine is a tad shorter. I tried to hook up the sat receiver on our last trip out. I could never get it to work just right but did get sat tv in the den area. After I got home I pulled up my sat schematics of the unit and it shows the small coaxial loop (if you have one like mine) is removed and top connection of the loop is the input for the sat receiver and the bottom is for the tv output. This is where i could never get a good signal to the rest of the units. The schematic shows from outside to the upper connection of the loop is a straight shot without splitters etc. The bottom of the loop goes through the amp (or bypass if off) to the splitters to the tv. I am going to try it again now that i know the wiring diagram. In theory it should work but it seems like, if my memory serves me right, i tried it correctly and could never get a signal to the other sets. It will go to the shop shortly if I cannot get it right. I will give it one more go before I give up. Let us know how you come out on yours.
__________________

Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 07:24 AM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Katy
Posts: 4
Texas
Tanman,

Any chance you could post those schematics that you mentioned? I am getting ready to connect a Tailgater system and was hoping to determine what each of the coax connections at the amplifier face plate run to.

Thanks,

Greg
gfvillano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 01:51 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
I would be happy to post the schematic however its in PDF format. How do you post that>>??

maybe I can find a way to make it an image file then I can post it as a picture unless someone pops in on how to post a pdf.
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-18-2012, 04:12 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,842
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanman View Post
I would be happy to post the schematic however its in PDF format. How do you post that>>??

maybe I can find a way to make it an image file then I can post it as a picture unless someone pops in on how to post a pdf.

It's a file so you can post it as an attachment. That would be very helpful or even perhaps the url where you found the schematic. I've checked the Dutchman site and didn't find anything pertaining to the secret wiring stuff.
I have done a little research and it seems as if a 4-way splitter might work for the four TVs in my unit. However, a schematic would be appreciated.
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:37 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
??Whoa ,... I used the reply link and not the quick link and there is a way to attach it. lets hope it goes thru.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf Voltage Satelite Cable Wiring.pdf (106.2 KB, 455 views)
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 12:41 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
dang,, it did go thru.. I have another file where the amp was modified since some say it doesnt allow the signal through well enough.. it seems like an easy enough modification for the voltage but can probably be used on any wingard amp.
Attached Files
File Type: pdf satellite_rewire.pdf (957.8 KB, 428 views)
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2012, 07:08 AM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Katy
Posts: 4
Texas
Great information Tanman. Many thanks!

Greg
gfvillano is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:42 AM   #9
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: westover
Posts: 2
Alabama
aint no way to avoid running cables to bedroom tv hook up , been trying all day the bed room tv hook up evidently goes straight to the bat wing antenna, so ssplit it at the satellite input and run another cable to your directv box
aspen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 01:45 AM   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: westover
Posts: 2
Alabama
why in the world dont the manufacturers run a seperate receiver hook to bedrooms in rvs i bet it would cost at least 10.00
aspen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 12:09 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,842
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by aspen View Post
why in the world dont the manufacturers run a seperate receiver hook to bedrooms in rvs i bet it would cost at least 10.00
If they did that they would be guessing the customer would have a more advanced satellite system. The owner would need an antenna with more than one LNB output, an output for each additional receiver as it were. Then additional and expensive multi-switches would be needed. There are the wireless receivers out there too so another coax run would/could be a waste of time and money.

That would be a lot of ten dollars to do that, to pass on to the customer to finance.

Instead of another coax run I'd prefer to have an increase in QC.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2013, 03:21 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Celina, TX
Posts: 80
Texas
This is exactly what I was looking for. I just want to wire for all TV's to run off of the same dish box for now so, I shouldn't need a switch.

BTW, It looks like they started adding the extra coax feeds to do this setup( in the PDFs) on the newer models.
Jbee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-26-2014, 05:02 PM   #13
New Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: tionesta
Posts: 1
Pennsylvania
If the bedroom tv is only hooked to the batwing antenna, how do the other TV's work from that antenna too?
rick-renee is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2015, 02:01 AM   #14
Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Denton
Posts: 20
Texas
Thanks for the diagram
__________________

Bwanajohn is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 05:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×