2017 3970 rear camera help - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-11-2017, 06:14 AM   #1
Member
 
AzVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 12
Arizona
2017 3970 rear camera help

Just bought or in the process of buying a new 2017 3970. Upgraded from my previous 3605. I went to the dealer for delivering and ended up leaving it there because we had a list of 10+ things for them to fix. One of my questions was about how to use the rear camera. This model had a installed small camera just above the rear garage door. It isn't the one that is at the very top, that is bigger and has an antenna. Question: what model is the camera? I believe it is a garmin but not sure in the model, and should have come with a wireless display gps devise but we can't find it anywhere in the unit. The dealer seems to know nothing about it. Does anyone know if it is suppose to come with a viewing devise and other part is how does it works?
Thank you for the help!
Sean
__________________

AzVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 01:45 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Tucson
Posts: 744
Arizona
It should have the unit for inside your truck. It came from the factory with one but stuff can sprout legs sitting in a dealer's lot. Just have them take one from another unit trailer.
__________________

__________________
2014 Voltage 3600
2013 Chevy 3500 CC DRW
2011 Harley Ultra Limited 2016 RZR 900
azdryheat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 02:48 PM   #3
Member
 
AzVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 12
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by azdryheat View Post
It should have the unit for inside your truck. It came from the factory with one but stuff can sprout legs sitting in a dealer's lot. Just have them take one from another unit trailer.
Do you know if it is a garmin devise and what the model number is?
AzVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 02:57 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,154
Illinois
My 3990 came with a "Boyo" brand camera and display for the truck. Garbage, but have yet to replace it. They change brands, options, colors and accessories at a whim. Two 2017's may have completely different cameras.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 03:00 PM   #5
Member
 
AzVoltage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: Scottsdale
Posts: 12
Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by lcv800 View Post
My 3990 came with a "Boyo" brand camera and display for the truck. Garbage, but have yet to replace it. They change brands, options, colors and accessories at a whim. Two 2017's may have completely different cameras.
Rusty
Thanks Rusty for your reply. Is your camera that small one about the size of a golf ball without an antenna?
AzVoltage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 03:03 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,154
Illinois
No, square with antenna.
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-11-2017, 09:26 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Its4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Longmont
Posts: 66
Colorado
my 2016 3200 came with the garmin backup camera and a compatible garmin GPS. The GPS is what display's the camera image. Make sure you get the GPS.

To get the camera to work, you will probably need to turn on the trailer running lights. Thats how mine was wired.
__________________
2016 Voltage 3200
2015 Silverado 3500HD SRW CC
2014 Harley Davidson FLHTK
Its4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-06-2017, 10:25 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2016
Location: Monroe
Posts: 12
North Carolina
Likely old news to this post. My 2017 Voltage 4150 had the Garmin GPS monitor version. You are correct that running lights must be on to transmit the signal from the camera to the Garmin. Dealer said it was due to cameras burning up as they weren't designed to stay on all the time. I have been researching Tadibrothers wireless options and that is how I stumbled onto this thread. Did know if anyone knew where to pick up constant power back where existing camera is located should I replace with a Tadibrothers setup?
__________________

dkruchko is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
camera, garmin, rear camera

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 06:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×