15 3605 sub power - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Toy Hauler
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-08-2015, 11:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Billings
Posts: 20
Montana
15 3605 sub power

Hey guys,
I decided to clean up behind my fireplace this evening. Actually the cabling wasn't too bad, fairly clean.
The subwoofer was turned all the way down, i adjusted it. The power is on and doesn't shut off when the stereo is shut off...which means that is a power drain when not in use.
There is a rj45 plug that says 'remote' with nothing plugged in to it. There is also a 'auto turn on' button which was depressed for 'on'. Apparently it doesn't 'auto shut off'!
Has anyone else already fixed this issue that could offer some advise?
Thanks
Colby
__________________

Peakbagger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 12:19 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 647
Florida
Most subwoofers I have seen have a seperate control wire running to the amp, this could be your "remote" wire. Check your amp or sound bar (if you have one) to see if there is a corresponding wire hook up. This is usually a fire wire.
But then again, the sound bar I have in the house controls a sub via bluetooth. I haven't dug into my basement yet to see how my sub might be hooked up.
__________________

__________________
Thom & Rose
DD-250 ALUMNI
The problem child: 2014 Voltage 3950
The problem solver: 2017 Tiffin Breeze 32BR
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 03:56 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Norfolk
Posts: 41
Virginia
Mine also stays on initially when I turn off the stereo, but when it dose not receive a signal for a while I do believe it turns off. As far the remote input goes on a regular car amp that would trigger the unit to turn on and off. Mine is also not connected to any thing. For some reason though my input wires were wired up a little but funky in my opinion. They had the left and right channels coming from the head unit but then they installed a 2 into one y cord and plugged that into my amp. After I turned my amp up for the first time it began to make some crazy sounds no matter what I did with the adjustments. So I took the y cord off and just plugged the left and right channels into the left and right channels on the sub. It seems to work great now.
Mike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 06:50 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
07dmax360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seba beach
Posts: 105
Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Peakbagger View Post
Hey guys,
I decided to clean up behind my fireplace this evening. Actually the cabling wasn't too bad, fairly clean.
The subwoofer was turned all the way down, i adjusted it. The power is on and doesn't shut off when the stereo is shut off...which means that is a power drain when not in use.
There is a rj45 plug that says 'remote' with nothing plugged in to it. There is also a 'auto turn on' button which was depressed for 'on'. Apparently it doesn't 'auto shut off'!
Has anyone else already fixed this issue that could offer some advise?
Thanks
Colby
Yes, easy fix, run a single 16ga. wire from the remote lead of the stereo (blue lead wire) down to the remote lead on the amp and press the "auto on" switch to the off position. When you turn off the stereo the amp will turn off too, end of power drain problem. I also found out that the reason the amp did not turn off is because the stereo was grounding out through the rca output so it was always sending a signal to the amp, when stereo is turned off. I am currently going through warranty to get a replacement stereo.
__________________
2007 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/SB
2015 Chevy Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/LB DRW
2014 Voltage V-3605 with trail-air pinbox
2012 Can-Am Commander XT 1000, 1998 golwing GL1500
07dmax360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-09-2015, 10:19 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,448
Michigan
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom View Post
Most subwoofers I have seen have a seperate control wire running to the amp, this could be your "remote" wire. Check your amp or sound bar (if you have one) to see if there is a corresponding wire hook up. This is usually a fire wire.
But then again, the sound bar I have in the house controls a sub via bluetooth. I haven't dug into my basement yet to see how my sub might be hooked up.
Thom, on my 3950 the sub is plugged into 110 for power so no power drain unless running off the inverter. Working complete remodel of the basement as we speak...
__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-10-2015, 01:15 AM   #6
New Member
 
RckyMtnMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Montrose
Posts: 8
Colorado
I'm in the process of redesigning the sound system in my 3605. After seeing the way this thing is wired, I can't believe it works at all. I have pulled the stereo out and the Blue/White REMOTE POWER for the amp turn-on is definitely NOT connected. Can't understand why not. I will be adding a set of 6X9's in enclosures in the garage and possibly another amp as well as a REAL Blu-Ray DVD player.
__________________
2015 Voltage V3605 with Trail-Air pin box, 2012 RAM 2500 4WD CCSB leveled, 6.7 Cummins with "lots of goodies", Pull-Rite slider hitch, 2012 Kawasaki Concours also with "lots of goodies"!
RckyMtnMike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-01-2015, 02:58 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Plainfield
Posts: 120
Illinois
Reading this I decided to look in the basement for the reason my sub-woofer is not working, thinking it was as simple as to turn it up, loose wire etc... took basement wall down to find NO sub-woofer!!! WTF!!! Unless they hid it THAT good or put it in another location I got nothing... but I did find an extra 1 1/2" PVC pipe running up the vent chase not connected to anything, I looked and everything that is supposed to have a vent pipe has one... maybe I can trade Dutchman a PVC pipe for a sub-woofer...
__________________
2009 F350 SRW 6.4 Diesel w/Spartan tuner, AFE exhaust, AFE cold air intake, Airlift 5000 ultimate bags with wireless air compressor.
2015 Voltage 3800 Epic 4 package
Pushin4u is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-02-2015, 07:46 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
07dmax360's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Seba beach
Posts: 105
Alberta
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pushin4u View Post
Reading this I decided to look in the basement for the reason my sub-woofer is not working, thinking it was as simple as to turn it up, loose wire etc... took basement wall down to find NO sub-woofer!!! WTF!!! Unless they hid it THAT good or put it in another location I got nothing... but I did find an extra 1 1/2" PVC pipe running up the vent chase not connected to anything, I looked and everything that is supposed to have a vent pipe has one... maybe I can trade Dutchman a PVC pipe for a sub-woofer...
Your sub is located behind the fire place, slide the metal side trim upward and it is held in place with 4 little tabs. Use a flat blade screw driver to gently pry it up from the floor. Then you find 4 Phillips head screws that hold the fireplace in place. Unscrew them and slide your fireplace out. The sub is mounted to the wall behind and up from the fireplace.
__________________
2007 GMC Sierra 2500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/SB
2015 Chevy Silverado 3500HD 6.6L Duramax CC/LB DRW
2014 Voltage V-3605 with trail-air pinbox
2012 Can-Am Commander XT 1000, 1998 golwing GL1500
07dmax360 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-03-2015, 04:04 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Houma
Posts: 243
Louisiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pushin4u View Post
Reading this I decided to look in the basement for the reason my sub-woofer is not working, thinking it was as simple as to turn it up, loose wire etc... took basement wall down to find NO sub-woofer!!! WTF!!! Unless they hid it THAT good or put it in another location I got nothing... but I did find an extra 1 1/2" PVC pipe running up the vent chase not connected to anything, I looked and everything that is supposed to have a vent pipe has one... maybe I can trade Dutchman a PVC pipe for a sub-woofer...
Another way to get to your sub is by removing the faux brick that is above your fireplace. The brick is a one-piece foam panel, held on by brad nails and hot glue. On my 3600 (basically the same as your 3800) the sub was sitting on top of the fireplace.
__________________
2013 Voltage Epic 3600
2006 GMC Sierra 2500HD Diesel (LBZ)
Sinecure is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-06-2015, 03:18 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Oxnard
Posts: 188
California
I have the Sony sound bar in my 3800. It is a 2015 we just got. Do we have a subwoofer too? We have all the packages etc. but have not explored behind the fireplace etc..
__________________

VCToyhauler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
3605, power drain, subwoofer

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Popular Tags
#coleman 5th wheel 12 volt problem 243 255bhsl kodiak 1700bh apsen trail 1700bh tv mount 1991 2018 atlas 2018 denali 2901rl 3305 aerolite aerolite 282 dbhs. 2018 air conditioning alabama atwood awnins bike rack black water tank size btu caulk caulk; gasket charger chassis coleman diagrams disconnect dutchman dutchman endurance 3006 dutchmen electrical electrical inverter electric conversion floor floor bounce flooring fuel station furnace gray water tank grey tank hot water heater hydraulic insert inverter landing gear lights bad ground switch lost panel owners manual panels propane pvc valve repair replacement rise roof brackets satellite hookup slide manual open slide out solar structural fault switch thermarest aening tires voltage wall water heater water lines winterize winterizing wiring diagram
» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 09:40 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×