Voltage Garage & Outdoor TV COAX Wiring - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Fifth Wheel
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-10-2017, 02:54 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Utah
Voltage Garage & Outdoor TV COAX Wiring

I have a 2016 Voltage 3914. I had a Direct TV Technician overy for 3 hours on Tuesday. The Bedroom TV and Main Cabin TV work great (no problem getting satellite signal from my 18" Wineguard). The Garage TV and Outdoor TV are a different story. Does anyone know if Dutchman puts a standard cable splitter on the wiring to these TV's. Also, if they run the cable direct to each TV similar to the Bedroom or Main Cabin? Frustrating that I can't add Direct TV Boxes on to each TV and have it on all four TV's. Any input would be appreciated. I'm afraid I may have to see if General RV will re-wire these TV's COAX.
__________________

Mbaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 03:00 AM   #2
Member
 
KN5DX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Fairborn
Posts: 48
Ohio
Go to your wet bay compartment. There is the one connection upper right of bay for cable. The trick is bend down and look at upper section of bay. The SAT feeds run there. Mine has 3 there, and one jumper at main tv by power booster.
__________________

__________________
Doug & Tiffany
2016 F-350 Platinum DRW
2010 Harley Davidson FLHTK (Ultra Limited)
2015 Voltage 3605
KN5DX is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 03:12 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Utah
Thanks ... I actually have 4 outlets in my outside compartment ... they are:

Satellite / Bedroom / Garage / Outdoor TV

The two on the left work great. The two on the right is where I can't get a satellite signal.
Mbaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 09:58 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 974
North Carolina
A thought... go with the wireless mini-genies from DIRECTV, and you won't have to worry about the coax at all. That's what I did, and all 4 of my TVs not only work great, but can all be placed on different channels if I wanted.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 12:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Utah
That is a great idea ... and I've considered that. If you don't mind me asking, do you have the same Genie system in your house? I'm wondering in order to put this system in a RV, do you have to upgrade your home to the system? I will call Direct TV today. Thank you for a great idea!
Mbaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 12:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 974
North Carolina
No house here... I'm fulltime in my RV.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 10:51 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
eightydo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Las Vegas
Posts: 566
Nevada
There is a splinter behind the radio in the garage also check under the refrigerator.
__________________

2017 Dodge Ram 3500 DRW
2014 Voltage 3200
2005 FLHTCI
eightydo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-10-2017, 11:02 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Utah
OK. That's makes total sense. The basic splitters won't split satellite signal.
Mbaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:01 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Canon City
Posts: 767
Colorado
Mbaldo,

Unfortunately, if you want a Genie system in the RV, then you're smart to do what I did:

Upgrade the House system to Genie. But you will have to take the Genie HD-DVR from the house to the RV and back. That's because it supports wireless...and you can't have two Genie HD-DVRs on one account. So we take ours back and forth to the house/RV.

If the House is hardwired for different TVs, like ours, you can then get mini-Genie devices that are hard wired into the House TVs...and stay there.

Then for the RV, buy a "wireless video bridge" for the Genie system, two wireless mini-Genie devices, three wireless mini-Genie power supplies and three (RC71) Universal Genie DirecTV remotes.

I bought all my equipment from SolidSignal.com. Then all you have to do is call DirecTV and have it all put on your system.

I mounted a mini-Genie device power supply to the inside of the cabinet at the Garage TV and the Outside TV. Its simple to move the mini-Genie from the Garage TV to the Outside TV and I have a programmed remote at each location, Bedroom, Garage, Outside.

Works extremely well for us and has for three years now!!

Pirate
Pirate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2017, 01:07 AM   #10
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Salt Lake City
Posts: 12
Utah
Thanks for the information. That's very helpful. Also, thanks for the website link. I'll definitely look further into this. Thanks again for taking the time to reply.
__________________

Mbaldo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia Campgrounds

Reviews provided by


DutchmenOwners.com is not in any way associated with Dutchmen Manufacturing, or its associated RV manufacturing divisions.


All times are GMT. The time now is 03:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.