Surge Protectors - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Fifth Wheel
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-27-2013, 01:58 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
Surge Protectors

I am wanting to install a hard wired voltage spike suppressor in my 3200 Voltage. I went to the dealer who stated to install it as close to the exterior plug as possible. I asked how to access that area. They stated enter through the bay in the front and just reach to the plug next to the exterior control panel where the water hook up is. That was a no go. I removed the panel and all I could see was the side of the water dump station control panel.

My question is exactly where in this unit do I access the main power to install the surge suppressor? Do I mount it on the opposite side where it says electrical behind this panel??

Where has others mounted their surge suppressors??
__________________

Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 02:03 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
come on people.. someone must have put in a surge guard in their voltage by now.. gimme a little insight.
__________________

Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:23 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Wanderer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Nanaimo
Posts: 484
British Columbia
I'd love to know as well!
__________________
Gordon and Laura Howe
Vancouver Island, British Columbia
2010 Komfort Resort 240RK
Wanderer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:47 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Aronious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carleton
Posts: 107
Michigan
Don't know if this will help, but our 3905 has a sticker on the ditchside of the bear cave. It is on the rear wall just inside the access hatch and says something like "remove this panel to access the electrical components." I don't have the rig here or I'd run out and double check that.
__________________
Aaron & Laura
2012 Voltage V3905
2009 Chevy 3500HD Dually
Two Harleys
Aronious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:55 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Tanman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 521
Thanks Aronious.. Mine has the same sticker. When I talked to the dealer they say put it as close to the plug as possible.. I was hoping someone has installed one and where they put it.
There is a gazillion screws to get into that panel your speaking of. uggggg.

Maybe some one else will pipe in.
Tanman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 01:21 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Aronious's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Carleton
Posts: 107
Michigan
Ya! It just seem to me that there would be a junction in there where it splits the current to the rest of the trailer but not sure as I haven't been behind that panel. Personally, I don't see a problem with mounting a suppressor at the end of the cable run from the connector plug. Maybe another member has had that panel off and thought to take a pic of what's behind it. If I ever get the toy-hauler stored here at the house, one of my projects was to pull that panel and remount the Dirt Devil canister into it like I saw somewhere else on the forums.
__________________
Aaron & Laura
2012 Voltage V3905
2009 Chevy 3500HD Dually
Two Harleys
Aronious is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-07-2013, 11:15 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Goshen
Posts: 363
Indiana
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tanman View Post
Thanks Aronious.. Mine has the same sticker. When I talked to the dealer they say put it as close to the plug as possible.. I was hoping someone has installed one and where they put it.
There is a gazillion screws to get into that panel your speaking of. uggggg.

Maybe some one else will pipe in.
During my stay in Florida....I met up with a guy that had a Big Horn. He mounted a surge protector right beside the sticker for electrical components is in his basement (ditchside). He had taken that panel off, uggggg.

Another fellow camper had a surge suppressor inline at the power source (50 amp) where he plugged in.

Probably, not too much help. Good luck!
__________________
Dave

2012 Dutchmen 3850RL
Infinityrver is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2013, 06:16 PM   #8
New Member
 
Jeff L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Lodi
Posts: 5
California
Just wondering if anybody figured out how to install the hard wired surge protector yet or not? Maybe I will be the first one? I am going to be installing a 2000watt inverter and a surge protector. I will take pictures of the install and post them but if anybody has done this already please let me know how it went.
Jeff L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 11:18 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,295
Wyoming
I asked my service guy about installing one... and he STRONGLY advised me to NOT get a hard-wired unit. Said he'd seen lots of rigs in his time come through for electrical work with one installed, and even a few units that had caught fire and were badly damaged. And all of them had trouble trying to get reimbursed for the cost of repairs.

His take was that... if Dutchmen had installed one with the build, then that'd be great. It'd be located in a convenient place... and (more importantly) if anything ever went wrong, it'd be covered under warranty.

As for an aftermarket one... he said that while they are far more convenient, in that you don't have that big, heavy, box on the end of the plug... if anything should ever go wrong with it, the hassles of trying to diagnose the trouble and/or remove it from the system completely are much more complicated.

And 'good luck' trying to prove to either Dutchmen, the dealer who installed it, or the company that made the surge protector that the problem is their fault to pay for repairs. That each would blame the other. Dutchmen would say the surge protector was defective or installed incorrectly... the surge company would say the rig electronics were defective or installed incorrectly... and the service dept. who installed it would say it was either bad wiring on the rig or the surge protector that caused it.

(and "good luck" going against their lawyers if you installed it yourself!!)

Either way, the rig owner would have to pay any repair costs up front, and then try to get reimbursed from whoever they could get to claim fault. Expect a few years before your case would ever appear in court.

All of that is avoided with a portable plug & play portable unit. There's virtually nothing to screw up. You plug the unit on the shore-power pole, plug your cord into the unit, and you're in business. Everything is self-contained, with no user modifications required.

So that was his opinion on it... take it for what it's worth.
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-17-2013, 05:14 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 204
Colorado
I must admit that I am new to a lot of this, but why would you want a whole coach protector anymore than you might want a whole house protector?

I live in a high lightening strike area and have never considered the whole house approach, I just use one on sensative things, like TVs, computers, etc.

Is the power in camp grounds that unreliable or unstable?
__________________

Chalkie is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:19 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.