Shore power iffy - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2019, 01:31 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: PCB
Posts: 8
Florida
Shore power iffy

Recently stayed at a campground and the circuit breaker at the pedestal would always trip when trying to run the A/C. Thought that was weird so it led me to install a digital display to monitor incoming power.
Just had to do it...
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	20190608_172012.jpg
Views:	31
Size:	45.5 KB
ID:	5487   Click image for larger version

Name:	20190608_172024.jpg
Views:	48
Size:	62.2 KB
ID:	5488  
__________________

sistahazel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 01:58 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
wildwest450's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Sparta
Posts: 1,710
Tennessee
Give us a link to the monitor!

I like it
__________________

__________________
2014 Aerolite 213 RBSL
2016 Chevrolet Colorado
wildwest450 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:23 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Need to get an EMS too!

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 02:44 PM   #4
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: PCB
Posts: 8
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by wildwest450 View Post
Give us a link to the monitor!

I like it
Thanks, I thought it turned out really clean and I liked the blue back light.

AC Current Voltage Amperage Power Energy Panel Meter LCD Digital Display Ammeter Voltmeter Multimeter with Split Core Current Transformer CT AC 80-260V 100A (AC 100A Meter(Split Core Transformer)) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07JB9B2QL..._S6qaDbTKTR505
sistahazel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 07:25 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by sistahazel View Post
Recently stayed at a campground and the circuit breaker at the pedestal would always trip when trying to run the A/C. Thought that was weird so it led me to install a digital display to monitor incoming power.
Just had to do it...

Ooh OOh! Another got to have toy!



I like it. I have an EMS that tells you pretty much the same thing. I can sometimes see it from a window. But not always.


For the price and good reviews. Got to have!
Thanks for the post.
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 08:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by sistahazel View Post
Recently stayed at a campground and the circuit breaker at the pedestal would always trip when trying to run the A/C. Thought that was weird so it led me to install a digital display to monitor incoming power.
Just had to do it...

Does the meter reset the numbers automatically or when you push a button?
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-12-2019, 09:15 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: PCB
Posts: 8
Florida
There's only one button on the right hand ide and its to turn on/off the blue backlight. If I disconnect from shorepower, it'll turn off
sistahazel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:26 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Was checking the other meters on AMAZON that are similar. This is better because it has the split transformer. Makes it just a bit easier.



The only thing to look for is that you have enough slack in the incoming 120 line to "clamp" the one wire. Other wise you need to split more of the outer insulation. Not a bigee if your a DIYer


Great find!
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2019, 05:29 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Does the meter reset the numbers automatically or when you push a button?

It is not a cumulative reading. It is a constant reading, as it is occurring. It does not "count" your usage.


Still very useful.
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 10:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
I liked the meter so much that I not only bought the one in the link, I also had to buy the DC version too.
I like my toys too Armyvet!

Welcome to the forum sistaHazel from your neighbor up the street.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 04:46 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Thom View Post
I liked the meter so much that I not only bought the one in the link, I also had to buy the DC version too.
I like my toys too Armyvet!

Very Cool! A DC version would be useful too!
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 04:59 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVeteran View Post
Very Cool! A DC version would be useful too!
Got mine today, they are a little smaller than I thought they would be.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 07:13 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Got mine today, they are a little smaller than I thought they would be.

Can you read it across the room?
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-14-2019, 07:58 PM   #14
New Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2018
Location: PCB
Posts: 8
Florida
wow, we are neighbors
sistahazel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 02:50 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVeteran View Post
Can you read it across the room?
hell no! 1 1/8" by 2 1/2" display. VERY SMALL!
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-15-2019, 10:39 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 600
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
hell no! 1 1/8" by 2 1/2" display. VERY SMALL!

Yeah that is a lot of info for that size.


I have a 12 vdc display with only 5 digits and that I can barely see across the room.


I will probably still get one for that price.


Thanks
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 02:52 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
It just dawned on me that I should have ordered 3 of the 12v ones, I have 3 seperate battery banks, chassis, house and generator.

Lots of pretty gauges for the wife to question the need for...... atleast it's conversation...
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2019, 01:17 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,852
Florida
I have one that already monitors the 12 power (battery condition). This one will be a good addition in order to see what the 120v stuff is looking. I have a 50 amp service so I probably should have two because...
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 09:08 PM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: FLINT
Posts: 35
Texas
The answer to your real question is breakers go bad a little at a time, SOMETIMES. It is possible when the load increases the breaker at the pedestal will pop. Only remedy, have CG replace it. Some will argue they either work or do not, but 4 years workamping has demonstrated they do go bad slowly. If not remedied, the plug itself overheats and MAY burn your plug.
__________________
Ken and Sherrie Pesce
kensherripesce is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2019, 10:35 PM   #20
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 643
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by kensherripesce View Post
The answer to your real question is breakers go bad a little at a time, SOMETIMES. It is possible when the load increases the breaker at the pedestal will pop. Only remedy, have CG replace it. Some will argue they either work or do not, but 4 years workamping has demonstrated they do go bad slowly. If not remedied, the plug itself overheats and MAY burn your plug.
Agreed! Corrosion will take its toll on the internal contacts, especially when people don't close the pedestal cover.

__________________

Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 11:22 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×