Searched AC questions - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login

Old 07-27-2019, 07:50 PM   #1

Arizona
Searched AC questions

`2015 dutchmen 300 BHSL, is 110 inside,, fan going like heck, Thermostat is set on AU, and then I put it to cool, and set temp, I should hear the compressor run also?? trouble is I forget what I am supposed to do, leave it in Cool for Cool and Heat for heat and fan on Auto? and do i cycle it to on off mode switch so no lights come on, I think this Tucson heat is melting my brain as I age. thanks in advance,, Knee replacements ( and a wife ) dont permit me to climb on top and I have no kids I can put my knowledge to... I searched here and online and watched videos but no one says Hey for cool set it here on cool and set the temp etc..

rich2481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 01:20 AM   #2

Wyoming
With the thermostat on "COOL", and the fan set on "AUTO"... yes, you should hear the compressor cycling on & off as necessary. Even if you change the fan settings to "high", "med", or "low"... you should still hear the compressor cycling.

That said... and I'm just guessing here... with the high AZ temps, there's a chance that a single AC unit just can't keep up with the demand, and as such it remains on constantly to the point where the compressor may have 'frozen up'.

I spent the months of Aug & Sept in AZ a few years back... daytime temps regularly above 100... and even with all 3 of the ACs on my rig running, it was difficult to keep the main living area cool.

Anyway, if you're not hearing the compressor cycling on & off... you may need to call a mobile tech to come have a look.

2018 BMW R1200GS RALLYE
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-28-2019, 12:11 PM   #3

Arizona