Prewired Satellite/Cable - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-17-2018, 11:22 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Alabama
Prewired Satellite/Cable

Ok, am I missing something? I have a 2018 Coleman Light 2835BH, it is the first big camper i have ever owned we just got out of a popup. But the outside area where shore power is, there is a cable outlet, I thought this was for cable TV from the park or your satellite connection. I cannot get my satellite to feed through, I have disassembled the outlet behind the TV and it is labeled cable, antenna and there is one not labeled. So there is a total of three coaxial cables coming to that outlet. I disconnected all three and connected them to my sat box, nothing. Is it a dealer fix or am I missing something? The antenna works fine.
__________________

Sladeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 02:08 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,186
North Carolina
Without being familiar with your particular rig... off the top of my head, Iím thinking to ensure your over-the-Air antenna BOOSTER isnít on. If it is, itíll cancel out any signal from a cable/satellite input.
__________________

__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 02:35 AM   #3
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by ATCguy View Post
Without being familiar with your particular rig... off the top of my head, Iím thinking to ensure your over-the-Air antenna BOOSTER isnít on. If it is, itíll cancel out any signal from a cable/satellite input.
I have tried it both ways, with on and off no differance
Sladeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:39 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,082
Florida
I have two connections marked SAT on my Denali. They are wired directly to connections in the unit, one near the main tv and the feed for that tv is on the outside back of the unit, the one near the main cable input is for the one near the bedroom outlet. Look for a connection on your unit (may be located anywhere) on the outside labled SAT.

I think they did this because the LNB may require power and they don't want to backfeed that into the cable system. Besides, a powered LNB needs a special splitter to pass power.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 12:14 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
I have two connections marked SAT on my Denali. They are wired directly to connections in the unit, one near the main tv and the feed for that tv is on the outside back of the unit, the one near the main cable input is for the one near the bedroom outlet. Look for a connection on your unit (may be located anywhere) on the outside labled SAT.

I think they did this because the LNB may require power and they don't want to backfeed that into the cable system. Besides, a powered LNB needs a special splitter to pass power.
i have two, neither of which i can find a label, one near shore power and one on under the awning. i have tried both of those as inputs and i get nothing. but you bring up a great point, i have not tried the bedroom outlet.
Sladeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 12:38 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,082
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sladeb View Post
i have two, neither of which i can find a label, one near shore power and one on under the awning. i have tried both of those as inputs and i get nothing. but you bring up a great point, i have not tried the bedroom outlet.
the one under the awning is for regular cable when you have a tv outside. the one near the shore power, is it your normal cable input? If not, that is the connection for the sat. Mine has two near the shore power, one sat and one cable. You may have another outlet near your main tv, it's sort of hidden and not part of of the regular coax connections. You may have a splitter somewhere near your main tv system that would go to the radio also.

According to your specs, you are prewired for sat.

PrewiringAir Conditioning
PrewiringYesCable
PrewiringYesPhone PrewiringNoHeat
PrewiringYesTV Antenna
PrewiringYesSatellite
PrewiringYesWasher / Dryer PrewiringNo

https://www.rvusa.com/rv-guide/2018-...2835bh-tr36414
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 05:12 PM   #7
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
the one under the awning is for regular cable when you have a tv outside. the one near the shore power, is it your normal cable input? If not, that is the connection for the sat. Mine has two near the shore power, one sat and one cable. You may have another outlet near your main tv, it's sort of hidden and not part of of the regular coax connections. You may have a splitter somewhere near your main tv system that would go to the radio also.

According to your specs, you are prewired for sat.

PrewiringAir Conditioning
PrewiringYesCable
PrewiringYesPhone PrewiringNoHeat
PrewiringYesTV Antenna
PrewiringYesSatellite
PrewiringYesWasher / Dryer PrewiringNo

https://www.rvusa.com/rv-guide/2018-...2835bh-tr36414
the only external connections is the one by shore power and one under the awning, the outlet behind the main tv has 3 cables coming into it, as i said, i disconnected them all and hooked them straight to the sat box with the dish connected to the outlet by the shore power. i still got no signal and i connected the dish straight to the box and got a signal before disconnecting and connecting to the outlet by shore power. i have looked all over the specs for some indication which is which, it is very frustrating to run a cable into the camper from the doorway when it has external connections
Sladeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2018, 10:14 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,082
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Sladeb View Post
the only external connections is the one by shore power and one under the awning, the outlet behind the main tv has 3 cables coming into it, as i said, i disconnected them all and hooked them straight to the sat box with the dish connected to the outlet by the shore power. i still got no signal and i connected the dish straight to the box and got a signal before disconnecting and connecting to the outlet by shore power. i have looked all over the specs for some indication which is which, it is very frustrating to run a cable into the camper from the doorway when it has external connections
Not saying it isn't possible but maybe they just didn't wire them in. the one behind the main tv would have one that goes to the stereo (that one requires the amp to be on to get signal) and the other would be the input from the coax. You may want to get one of these to try to trace the signals...

https://www.amazon.com/Mapper-Tracke.../dp/B00S9T5KT0

or something with a tone generator.

You can always do a little re-wiring to the one that is under the awning and use that as your sat dish input since it should come out probably near the main tv. Might be what that third cable is.
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 01:12 PM   #9
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Pelham
Posts: 26
Alabama
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Not saying it isn't possible but maybe they just didn't wire them in. the one behind the main tv would have one that goes to the stereo (that one requires the amp to be on to get signal) and the other would be the input from the coax. You may want to get one of these to try to trace the signals...

https://www.amazon.com/Mapper-Tracke.../dp/B00S9T5KT0

or something with a tone generator.

You can always do a little re-wiring to the one that is under the awning and use that as your sat dish input since it should come out probably near the main tv. Might be what that third cable is.
i will look into the coax mapper, but what i can't understand is that i disconnected all the cables and plugged them straight in to my sat box and still got nothing
Sladeb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-19-2018, 01:31 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,082
Florida
Perhaps your sat box is powering the LNB. If that is the case, the splitters on the rv will not pass the power. There is a splitter and a power injector (amplifier) built into the main switch for the system (the one with the button). that guy probably won't pass power either ... what sat company do you have? My sat box here supplies power to the LNB and I have Direct TV. when I use the RV, I have to use a power injector in order to supply the power. Works fine.
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 01:37 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.