Installing 2nd AC & found the original wasn't installed right - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-19-2017, 04:41 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Sumter
Posts: 29
South Carolina
Installing 2nd AC & found the original wasn't installed right

I'm having a second AC put in my 2016 Aerolight 298RESL.

The tech that is doing the install showed me on the original main-room AC how the factory didn't line up the duct work to the vent holes very well. He also stated there's no end plug of the duct work and air is just blowing into the ceiling.

Of course no dealer around here does warranty work. (I purchased the trailer new last September)

That being said I'll be at Pirateland Campground at Myrtle Beach over the Memorial Day Weekend!!!!!!!!!
__________________

All American 6 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-23-2017, 12:02 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Delaware
Posts: 218
Ohio
Quote:
Originally Posted by All American 6 View Post
I'm having a second AC put in my 2016 Aerolight 298RESL.

The tech that is doing the install showed me on the original main-room AC how the factory didn't line up the duct work to the vent holes very well. He also stated there's no end plug of the duct work and air is just blowing into the ceiling.

Of course no dealer around here does warranty work. (I purchased the trailer new last September)

That being said I'll be at Pirateland Campground at Myrtle Beach over the Memorial Day Weekend!!!!!!!!!
I wonder how many second units are installed only because the first unit was installed improperly?

Have fun at the beach!
__________________

PamW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-27-2017, 11:25 PM   #3
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,138
North Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by PamW View Post
I wonder how many second units are installed only because the first unit was installed improperly?

Have fun at the beach!
Or new units that don't work to begin with!

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-28-2017, 01:15 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
rich2481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: tucson
Posts: 93
Arizona
I have one of those cheapo Android cameras, they work well, looking into my duct I found a chunk of ducting missing behind the tv and the wiring going down the wall to the breaker box,, also there is a vent pipe through the side of the duct, dont know how I will seal that, I used expanding foam and 2x2 AC foam and also retaped my AC unit ( the tape between intake and exhaust was blown out, and AC wires were inside duct causing whatever,,, the Ac unit to duct work opening is very small too... plus they didnt seal the foam in ceiling to the ceiling joints and my AC comes out everywhere, lights, skylights etc,, gave up chasing and plugging holes for now..
rich2481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 07:44 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.