GFI location - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-01-2018, 07:02 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
GFI location

Hi everyone, I am new to this fourm. I have a 2015 Denali 325rl and lost power to my TV, plug by my stove and to my refrigerator. Sound like a GFI problem to me . My owners manual says I have 2 of them. I only can find 1 in the kitchen,and it controls the bathroom plug as well. Anyone know where the other one is? HELP
__________________

Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 12:52 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
CSCLARK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Location: Sanger
Posts: 348
Texas
Check outside outlets as well those too are GFI protected.

Sent from my Moto Z (2) using Tapatalk
__________________

__________________
Chris & Donna
2014 Voltage Epic 3990
2018 RAM 3500 Laramie Sport Crew Cab 6.7 Cummins, AISIN 4X4 DRW 4.10 Long Bed Dually
2004 Sportster 1200c, Cruzbike Silvio 2.1, Cannondale Trail 5, Rover!
CSCLARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 02:22 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
I checked outside plugs and no reset button there either. Thanks
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 02:25 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kirkwood
Posts: 36
New York
Are the rest of the outlets in the camper (aside from the ones you mentioned) still working?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
spichura-300TQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 02:53 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
Yes the rest are working. The ones that are not working have a tag on them GFI protected.
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 02:54 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kirkwood
Posts: 36
New York
Bad GFI fuse?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
spichura-300TQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 02:58 PM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
Still checking the circuit brakers but appears to be good.
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 03:09 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Kirkwood
Posts: 36
New York
Bad breaker?


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
spichura-300TQ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 03:15 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 647
Florida
I have a GFI in my wet bay on my Denali that controlled things inside.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 04:09 PM   #10
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
What is a wet bay??
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:01 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Thom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: Youngstown
Posts: 647
Florida
A compartment where you hook up yor water and sewer lines, you may not have one, just external connections.
Thom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 09:47 PM   #12
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
No wet compartment on this trailer . But thanks for the suggestion.
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-01-2018, 10:31 PM   #13
Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Lenoir City
Posts: 37
Tennessee
Check in the basement. My 289 had a 120v outlet in the basement. It services the vacuum cleaner.


Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
__________________
2012 Ram 1500
Denali 289RK
Pricejh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 01:13 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,880
Florida
Is that the only outlet that is not working? It does NOT make sense that the TV would be on a GFI circuit. Since the TV is located in the slide, you may want to make sure of the connection to the outlet (bring it back to the dealer if you are not electrically inclined). You cannot trust the "manual", it may be referring to the GFI outlets you have on the kitchen counter for all that matters. The other item in your console is the stereo and it is a 12V item so it will run off battery and not 110. Does your fireplace work? I would bet you have a bad connection at the outlet or the TV doesn't work. There is also an outlet down below the lamp mounted on the wall (near the floor) on the other side of the room (next to the recliner). Does that outlet work? If you like, you can go to the hardware store (lowes or HD) and purchase a voltage tester to see if the outlet is hot (it's a great tool to have on hand anyway). Here's a link to one made by Klein.

https://www.zoro.com/klein-tools-non...iABEgJj-_D_BwE

It's non invasive, safe to use, and very inexpensive. This way you can tell if you have voltage or if the TV is bad. You can also tell if a line is hot by putting it next to the electrical cable.
franktafl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-02-2018, 02:20 PM   #15
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
Quote:
Originally Posted by franktafl View Post
Is that the only outlet that is not working? It does NOT make sense that the TV would be on a GFI circuit. Since the TV is located in the slide, you may want to make sure of the connection to the outlet (bring it back to the dealer if you are not electrically inclined). You cannot trust the "manual", it may be referring to the GFI outlets you have on the kitchen counter for all that matters. The other item in your console is the stereo and it is a 12V item so it will run off battery and not 110. Does your fireplace work? I would bet you have a bad connection at the outlet or the TV doesn't work. There is also an outlet down below the lamp mounted on the wall (near the floor) on the other side of the room (next to the recliner). Does that outlet work? If you like, you can go to the hardware store (lowes or HD) and purchase a voltage tester to see if the outlet is hot (it's a great tool to have on hand anyway). Here's a link to one made by Klein.

https://www.zoro.com/klein-tools-non...iABEgJj-_D_BwE

It's non invasive, safe to use, and very inexpensive. This way you can tell if you have voltage or if the TV is bad. You can also tell if a line is hot by putting it next to the electrical cable.
Thank for the suggestion. I do have a voltage tester,and the TV works fine pluged in to and out side plug. The TV plug and the plug next to the stove and the refrigerator are also dead all on the slide.
In the circuit breaker box are two 15 amp circuit brakers marked GFI. Makes me think two GFI reset plugs.
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-03-2018, 12:25 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,880
Florida
Quote:
Originally Posted by Rickeg2 View Post
Thank for the suggestion. I do have a voltage tester,and the TV works fine pluged in to and out side plug. The TV plug and the plug next to the stove and the refrigerator are also dead all on the slide.
In the circuit breaker box are two 15 amp circuit brakers marked GFI. Makes me think two GFI reset plugs.
Do you have an outlet above the stove under where the microwave is?
franktafl is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2018, 06:45 AM   #17
New Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2018
Location: Shelton
Posts: 8
Washington
Yes I do and it doesn't have a reset on it .
Rickeg2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2018, 03:07 PM   #18
Senior Member
 
rich2481's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: tucson
Posts: 95
Arizona
my Dutchamans was in the bathroom, but that being said the bracket that holds the cord on the slideout sheered the power cord to the slideout so every time I extended the GFI would blow. Dont know if that will help locating the GFI but might check your cord under the slideout. good luck
__________________

rich2481 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 04:38 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×