Cold weather camping - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 11-23-2014, 08:55 PM   #1

Illinois
Cold weather camping

I'm new to camping and wondering how practical it is to camp when it's below freezing. We like to hunt and sometimes its pretty cold. This weekend it got down to 14 one night and up to 55 2 days later. Even if I insulate and heat the water tank, will my furnace be able to keep up, etc.

I have a dutchmen ls700

siucoz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:15 PM   #2

Texas
Quote:
Originally Posted by siucoz View Post
I'm new to camping and wondering how practical it is to camp when it's below freezing. We like to hunt and sometimes its pretty cold. This weekend it got down to 14 one night and up to 55 2 days later. Even if I insulate and heat the water tank, will my furnace be able to keep up, etc.

I have a dutchmen ls700
My propane furnace keeps a large toy hauler toasty warm. You can count on burning through 10 lbs / 2.5 gallons or more of propane a day in freezing temperatures. The problem if you're dry camping without a generator or shore power is keeping the batteries charged. The 12 volt fan on my furnace will run down a single battery overnight. You can run your truck to recharge the camper battery, but that's not a very efficient process.

Mike & Helen
2014 Voltage 3895 EPIC III
2013 Ford F350 CC DRW FX4
HornedToad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-23-2014, 10:16 PM   #3
Site Team

North Carolina
Just about anything is possible...

Are you going to use your holding tanks? If so they need to be heated along with the pipes and elbows. If not already enclosed and heated.

Using your city water inlet or the fresh water tank? If you have city water the hose will need to be insulated and heated. Is the water tank above or below the floor?