Another Akuret tire question.... - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Old 05-28-2014, 07:37 PM   #1

Arizona
Another Akuret tire question....

I have seen the other threads on these tires and being an engineer I probably think too much... I'm looking for logical opinions....

I have a 2013 Denali 246RK dry weight 6300# loaded maybe 7000# total.
I have these Akuret tires 225/75-15 load range D 2540# per tire. If I take off maybe 800# of tongue weight I would be at 6300# on the tires or about 1575# ea. or 62% of max load.

All you guys that have had issues have you been close to max and had failures or were you in a safe zone? I would hate to just junk these tires because of reading the threads then find I wasted $$ only to get some other China manufactured tires and now I'm back to where I started..
On a previous TT I have had Marathons fail but they were C rated and very close to max.

Thank you... Pete

pbergmann is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-30-2014, 02:53 AM   #2

Utah
Pete
I can only give you my experience with any china or us made ST tire. I have a 2012 Denali 289RK with Akuret load range D tires. I have had no problems and the tires probably have 4000 miles on them. Every tire failure I have had in 50 years of RVing has been my fault. both US made tires and china made tires. Most people who have had tire problems, if they will tell the truth. Were doing one of the following.
1. Driving to fast (over 65 MPH ) on ST tires which are rated for a max speed of 65 MPH.

2. Driving on tires that were underinflated 10 PSI lower than recommended will ruin or weaken a tire in a few miles.

3. Driving with the tires overloaded for the tire rating.

4. Age of tires. Unless protected from the elements when trailer is not in use they should be changed every 4 or 5 years.