2004 Aerolite Cub Fridge Help - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Travel Trailer
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-05-2019, 01:10 AM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Maryville
Posts: 4
Tennessee
2004 Aerolite Cub Fridge Help

I recently went from a pop up to an Aerolite hybrid. When connecting to my 30 amp at my house, my electrician wired it with 220 and it popped my fuses and breakers. Upon inspection, everything appeared to be ok. It was also verified by a local dealer.

However, now we are camping and the fridge will not run on shore power or propane when connected. Only battery. And it appears battery will not charge. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get the fridge on shore power? Or, does it appear to be a converter issue? AC, plugs and microwave still work fine. Just not fridge and lights.

Thank you for your help.

Also, I have rechecked breakers, fuses and GFCIs. And, when connected to my truck, lights and fridge work.
__________________

Tummy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 01:28 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tummy34 View Post
I recently went from a pop up to an Aerolite hybrid. When connecting to my 30 amp at my house, my electrician wired it with 220 and it popped my fuses and breakers. Upon inspection, everything appeared to be ok. It was also verified by a local dealer.

However, now we are camping and the fridge will not run on shore power or propane when connected. Only battery. And it appears battery will not charge. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get the fridge on shore power? Or, does it appear to be a converter issue? AC, plugs and microwave still work fine. Just not fridge and lights.

Thank you for your help.

Also, I have rechecked breakers, fuses and GFCIs. And, when connected to my truck, lights and fridge work.

You might want to check the fuse in the converter. 12 volt appliances need the inverter and battery for operation. Lights and the control board of the refrigerator and furnace need the 12 volts.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 02:13 AM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Maryville
Posts: 4
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by sundancer 87 View Post
You might want to check the fuse in the converter. 12 volt appliances need the inverter and battery for operation. Lights and the control board of the refrigerator and furnace need the 12 volts.

Thank you. Just double checked the inverter fuse and it's good and intact. Unfortunately, it sounds like an inverter. I hope it's not motherboards as well.
Tummy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 02:32 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tummy34 View Post
Thank you. Just double checked the inverter fuse and it's good and intact. Unfortunately, it sounds like an inverter. I hope it's not motherboards as well.

I suppose the place to start checking voltages would be at the output of the converter. Have the battery checked also. When you plugged the camper in and killed the fuses and breakers something took a hit somewhere. It's going to take some trouble shooting to find the problem. There may be an inline fuse somewhere along the way also.
__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-05-2019, 11:44 AM   #5
Site Team
 
wahoonc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Sprung Leak
Posts: 3,139
North Carolina
What brand of inverter do you have? I would check the tongue (I am guessing that the battery is mounted there) for resettable fuses too.

Aaron
__________________
There is madness to my methods
2015 Coleman CM16FBS(traded) 2016 Concord 300DS
2015 Ford Fusion Hybrid following along
wahoonc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 01:33 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
ArmyVeteran's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2017
Location: Aiken
Posts: 623
South Carolina
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tummy34 View Post
I recently went from a pop up to an Aerolite hybrid. When connecting to my 30 amp at my house, my electrician wired it with 220 and it popped my fuses and breakers. Upon inspection, everything appeared to be ok. It was also verified by a local dealer.

However, now we are camping and the fridge will not run on shore power or propane when connected. Only battery. And it appears battery will not charge. Does anyone have any suggestions on how to get the fridge on shore power? Or, does it appear to be a converter issue? AC, plugs and microwave still work fine. Just not fridge and lights.

Thank you for your help.

Also, I have rechecked breakers, fuses and GFCIs. And, when connected to my truck, lights and fridge work.

I don't think any TT use 220. Was that a typo?
ArmyVeteran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 01:58 AM   #7
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Maryville
Posts: 4
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by wahoonc View Post
What brand of inverter do you have? I would check the tongue (I am guessing that the battery is mounted there) for resettable fuses too.

Aaron
I checked everywhere and finally just bit the bullet and took it to the dealership. Thank you so for your help.
Tummy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 01:59 AM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: May 2019
Location: Maryville
Posts: 4
Tennessee
Quote:
Originally Posted by ArmyVeteran View Post
I don't think any TT use 220. Was that a typo?
No typo, you read it correctly. My electrician wired 30 amp incorrectly. Then blamed me!
Tummy34 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2019, 02:06 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,860
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tummy34 View Post
No typo, you read it correctly. My electrician wired 30 amp incorrectly. Then blamed me!

Yep, that's what killed your breakers and fuses. It was correct for residential application but it's not the same for RVs.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×