Radio antenna on Kodiak Ultimate 230rbsl ? - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-22-2017, 02:04 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Avon
Posts: 19
North Carolina
Radio antenna on Kodiak Ultimate 230rbsl ?

So, does anyone know where the radio antenna is...or not...or is that the reason the radio won't pick up stations without static ?
__________________

gotohatteras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 03:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Dalzell
Posts: 707
South Carolina
TV antenna goes to distribution box with power light and pushbutton. The connection to the radio is TV2, which is inside that box. The booster must be on. If you are watching cable, with booster off, then you won't have radio. Unless it's an old cable system that carries FM stations. Don't think they do anymore.
__________________

MartyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-22-2017, 12:53 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
I had the same problem. We're often in campground with cable TV & cable internet. If you turn booster on to get signal to the radio, it kills cable TV & internet. Sometimes we just want to listen to the radio, or leave it on for the dog when we are out.

Someone here, sorry, I don't remember who, recommended this:
Tune Trapper Hidden AM FM Antennas For Cars, Motorcycles, Boats, Stereos, Radios

I mounted the Tune Tapper antenna behind the main TV, ran the antenna down into the compartment with the radio, and swapped the antenna connection. Problem solved, we have great radio reception all the time.
__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 11:24 PM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Avon
Posts: 19
North Carolina
Thanks everyone ! Of course...duh...i should have known the radio antenna was actually rhw tv antenna. Boy, do i feel stupid !
gotohatteras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-23-2017, 11:26 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: Avon
Posts: 19
North Carolina
I don't know where the dutchmen come from...we used to always adjust the tv antenna for better radio reception...jeez was i mixed up !
gotohatteras is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2017, 02:40 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Hewitt
Posts: 270
New Jersey
Quote:
Originally Posted by gotohatteras View Post
Thanks everyone ! Of course...duh...i should have known the radio antenna was actually rhw tv antenna. Boy, do i feel stupid !
Don't feel bad, my last two trailers had separate antenna for the radio. My opinion is that's how it should be, so you can still use the radio when in a campground on cable. Seems their just being cheap by not including a separate antenna for the radio. The good news is the fix I suggested is easy to implement, and not too expensive.
__________________

__________________
2013 V 3105
2016 F350 King Ranch CC 6.7 diesel dually
pdonoghu is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT. The time now is 08:08 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.
×