NORCOLD Refrigerator Problem - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-15-2016, 03:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Mauger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 33
California
NORCOLD Refrigerator Problem

We are getting ready to take a two week trip in our new Aerolite 213RB. We have used the inside refrigerator once before using AC. Tonight we tried to use it without AC and it went from Green to Amber to solid Red. The stove is working which is my test to see if there is gas. I went through the fault codes for red, on solid. I get stuck where it reads " that the manual shut off valve of the refrigerator is open". Where is that?

Or are there any other ideas what might be the problem.

Thank You
__________________

__________________
2016 Aerolite 213RB
2014 Chevy Silverado - High Country
2012 Goldwing
Mauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-15-2016, 10:05 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,139
Illinois
Did you try a few times? Sometimes after changing tanks or shutting the gas off, my stove will light right away but the fridge takes several tries before it fires up on propane.
Rusty
__________________

__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 12:36 AM   #3
Member
 
clint343's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Stephenson
Posts: 31
Virginia
Not sure if you have time to take it to a dealer but the Norcold website has a flyer with a recall on it. It didn't list my model but the dealer got them to ship out a new part and fixed it for free.

Sent from my SM-G925P using Tapatalk
clint343 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 03:04 PM   #4
Member
 
Mauger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 33
California
Worked!

Quote:
Originally Posted by lcv800 View Post
Did you try a few times? Sometimes after changing tanks or shutting the gas off, my stove will light right away but the fridge takes several tries before it fires up on propane.
Rusty
This did not work at first so I moved on, but I tried again this morning and it worked on third try. Thank You. You kept the wife happy which is priceless.
__________________
2016 Aerolite 213RB
2014 Chevy Silverado - High Country
2012 Goldwing
Mauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-16-2016, 03:05 PM   #5
Member
 
Mauger's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: Vallejo
Posts: 33
California
Recall

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mauger View Post
This did not work at first so I moved on, but I tried again this morning and it worked on third try. Thank You. You kept the wife happy which is priceless.
Will Check. Thank You.
__________________
2016 Aerolite 213RB
2014 Chevy Silverado - High Country
2012 Goldwing
Mauger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-30-2016, 06:42 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
GTWags's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Oklahoma City
Posts: 101
Oklahoma
I had this same problem this weekend. When I unplugged power, the fridge tried to spark up, but never lit. Gas was on all weekend and everything else worked. The auto igniter sounded like it clicked several times to try to light, but never did. We won't travel with food in the fridge any more. Wasn't bad, but any longer of a drive and it could have been.
__________________
2016 Aerolite 213RBSL
2013 F-150 5.0l tow package
GTWags is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 03:39 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
hddecker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: kamloops
Posts: 2,152
British Columbia
When we're getting the camper ready for a trip, I plug the camper in 2 days before we leave so it's good and cold. Just before we leave, I burp the propane system. I light all the burners on the stove several times, light the HW heater, cycle the furnace and then flip the fridge to auto.

My theory is that any airlocks get broken up by the time everything else is running, so the fridge fires first time. I usually have more trouble with the furnace going into lockout, than the fridge not lighting.
__________________
Jim

When I was a kid I was going nowhere fast, now I'm an old man I'm going everywhere slow.
hddecker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 10:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
nineoaks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2015
Location: Graceville, FL
Posts: 148
Florida
I just got my unit back from CW, the reefer worked really great on AC, (24 deg) but not gas (70 deg) After several days I insisted that they re-check the WC (they claimed that they had checked it) and it was really low causing the burner flame to be so low as to be useless, they re-adjusted the regulator and now everything is within the temp specs for the lower reefer. I was informed, at first that since the stove worked great then there was no problem but the stove only needs about 6" WC and has it's own regulator and the reefer needs about 11" WC. At first they were adamant that it was the reefer and would need to be replaced. I had also installed 2 12V fans with a button thermostat and a switch to remove the excess heat (due to the outside ambient temp. being so hot here in Fl. this summer.
__________________
Roy & Mary Fralick and our 5 camping Chihuahuas, Gypsy, Sammy, Delilah, Pebbles and Mitzi
nineoaks is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 11:09 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,139
Illinois
For a quick cool down, I toss in a chunk of dry ice in the freezer and fridge, occasionally opening the door for a second or two to release any CO2 released. Also gives me that comfort zone in case the LP shuts off going down the road for whatever reason.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2016, 12:13 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
sundancer 87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: Tahlequah
Posts: 2,828
Oklahoma
Quote:
Originally Posted by nineoaks View Post
I just got my unit back from CW, the reefer worked really great on AC, (24 deg) but not gas (70 deg) After several days I insisted that they re-check the WC (they claimed that they had checked it) and it was really low causing the burner flame to be so low as to be useless, they re-adjusted the regulator and now everything is within the temp specs for the lower reefer. I was informed, at first that since the stove worked great then there was no problem but the stove only needs about 6" WC and has it's own regulator and the reefer needs about 11" WC. At first they were adamant that it was the reefer and would need to be replaced. I had also installed 2 12V fans with a button thermostat and a switch to remove the excess heat (due to the outside ambient temp. being so hot here in Fl. this summer.
You must be one of the very few lucky ones to have an adjustable regulator.
__________________

__________________
2013 Voltage 3800, 2012 Chevy 3500 HD
2010 Yamaha V Star 950
2009 Yamaha Raider
Volunteering with Habitat for Humanity Caravanners
sundancer 87 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 03:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.