new camper, new headaches, please help - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login

Old 07-22-2014, 01:41 AM   #1

New York
Unhappy new camper, new headaches, please help

I am new to the ownership of travel trailers, my wife and I chose a 2014 19' coleman unltra lite for our first home. At first we loved it, the great out doors, the relaxing, the enjoyment of travel, but our enjoyment would soon fall. We have had our camper two months, at present we have turned in 8 warranty claims against faulty construction and failing parts. I am not bashing Dutchmen, please know this. I am just frustrated and looking for advice. Since ownership we have found a broken 1)hand rail, 2)cracked frige maintenance door frame, 3)two of the stabilizer jacks broke, 4)the lock fell out of the outdoor kitchen door, 5)there was a massive rain leak at the front storage door, 6)the weather seal under the slide out is missing(we were surprised the first time we got caught driving in the rain), 7)the screen door catch on the main entrance door pulled out, 8) the water pump will not prime 9) the air conditioner shook the camper. So far getting these things fixed has been a major fight, currently we are struggling to get the slide out seal fixed. It appears that it is going to take a while, in the mean time we have trips already planned and it all depends on having the camper. My first impression of Dutchmen is not a good one. We bought the TT at Camper World, they have been ok, but are slow when it comes to completing warranty claims. Dutchmen is very slow at getting the parts to Camper World, we are still waiting on the new storage door, the fridge door frame, and getting the slide out fixed. I have contacted our regional coleman rep and the customer relations department, but there is still a lack of expedience o