anyone upgrade their Antenna?? - Dutchmen Owners

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen Brand RVs > Ultra-Lite
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2018, 01:41 PM   #1
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fallbrook
Posts: 4
California
anyone upgrade their Antenna??

looking to upgrade our antenna on our Aerolite 282dbhs-we have direct tv. I was looking at the direct tv traveler model as we had that back 10 years ago on our motorhome-worked great. the dealer today tells me this is too expensive and overkill; additionally, they have not installed this on travel trailers to his knowledge, only on motorhomes-he suggested a dome type antenna...... I know the roof is curved and may be the cause for concern or lack of installs on trailers? other than that, I don't get it. Any suggestions or comments welcomed as I am unclear on next step. Thanks
__________________

hox57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 02:04 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,810
Florida
I have directTV as well but elected to go with a tripod and dish that I need to set up every time I camp. Works great except for local channels.
__________________

franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 02:19 PM   #3
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fallbrook
Posts: 4
California
thanks for the info, trying to get away from having to store a unit if possible.
hox57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 02:29 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: tampa
Posts: 1,810
Florida
That is a problem. In order to receive HD, you need that large and cumbersome dish. I have it strapped down on the back of the rv. My dish has a fold up LNB arm that will allow it to almost lay flat (as flat as you can get it).
franktafl is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 02:45 PM   #5
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fallbrook
Posts: 4
California
HD is not required for us; we are buying a new tv for the trailer so not sure if they make a none HD unit anymore? I'm just trying to stay away from setting unit on each trip.
hox57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 07:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Roselle
Posts: 1,138
Illinois
I had Traveler installed on my Voltage toy hauler. Pricey, but nice and certainly convenient. Press a button and you get all the satellites and can watch different channels on all televisions. Never had a leak and never had a mechanical issue. Getting it installed on my new fiver as we speak.
Rusty
__________________
2015 Black F-350 Platinum Diesel Dually Crew Cab
2019 Riverstone Legacy 38MB (Full Paint/All Options)
2015 Voltage 3990 (Full Paint, All Options) Sold 6/18
2005 Harley Ultra Classic w/too many miles
lcv800 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2018, 08:33 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
ATCguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Somewhere on the road...
Posts: 1,295
Wyoming
Have had my Travlír for 3 years now... no issues, and no regrets.

Click image for larger version

Name:	1CBA369F-C05F-492E-B873-90E605D60CA6.jpg
Views:	96
Size:	57.5 KB
ID:	4998
__________________
Tom
2013 VOLTAGE 3200 (EPIC I & II)
2014 Ford F-450 PLATINUM
2017 BMW R1200GS Rallye
ATCguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 04:33 AM   #8
New Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2018
Location: Fallbrook
Posts: 4
California
good to hear; maybe issue is with my rv repair dealer and not the trailer/unit. Thanks to all that chimed in.
hox57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2018, 01:40 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
dsol's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Location: Calabasas
Posts: 176
California
Since you donít care about HD then why not get a vuqube? You set it down somewhere with a clear view of southern sky and go through a pretty quick aiming process with a remote and you are good to go. The major drawback for me is lack of HD channels but plenty of SD and it draws enough power from the receiver through the coaxial cable that no external power source is needed.

No installation needed.

I have had one for years but actually use it less and less because over the air signals exist in HD now and we can usually tune in a few wherever we camp. The nice thing about over the air channels is that when you are dry camping you donít have to worry about turning off power and then going through the entire receiver reboot when you turn it on again.
dsol is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-09-2018, 09:06 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
donzinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Memphis
Posts: 1,447
Michigan
VuQube is great. I have one and use it almost every trip - super simple to use.
__________________

__________________
2014-3950, Full Paint, 17.5" tires, 370W solar, 3100W Magnum inverter w/ AGS, 7500w diesel generator, Micro-Air Easy Start 364 (x3)
2019 Ram 3500 Limited w/ Max Tow pkg
donzinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Dutchmen RV or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.



All times are GMT. The time now is 10:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.7
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2012 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.