New Texas Kodiak Owner - Dutchmen Owners
Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×

Go Back   Dutchmen Owners > Dutchmen RV Owner's Community Forums > New Member Introductions
Click Here to Login

Old 03-02-2018, 10:24 PM   #1

Texas
New Texas Kodiak Owner

Just purchased a 2018 Kodiak Ultimate 2711 BS. We plan on using it for weekend travel and perhaps quarterly week-long trips.

A little background to make the next bit easier to understand: Yes, I'm an engineer. I have a MSEE in radar and microwave communications and an MBA in Marketing and Strategy. You don't want to know what my day job consist of **smile** Having said that -- perhaps the next bit will make some sense:

I have to admit that I'm already planning on some upgrades, because the RV folks just don't understand how to build campers. Not just Dutchmen, the entire industry seems mostly mired in the 1980's. For instance: you have a 20K trailer ... minimum. Most likely 30K-40K. Please, Please, Please spurge $15 and put a 10W solar panel to trickle charger the battery on the darned things. I mean, come on **smile**. While you at it, put in the circuit to prevent people from completely discharging the battery while you're at it (i.e. you forget the outside lights and run the battery completely dead).